GCSE / A-Level

GCSE / A-Level

What Are GCSE Courses?

GCSE stands for the General Certificate of Secondary Education in the UK. It consists of a set of academic exams that students usually take at the age of 16 sit for after two years of study. GCSE is considered as an important stepping stone for the students intending to study A-level or get a job.

Pupils aged 14-15 in the UK, England, Wales, Northern Ireland, and other British territories study a number of subjects in colleges or schools for two years to get the required skills for the GCSEs exam at the end of the second year. Among the study subjects for GCSE English, mathematics and science are compulsory while the others are optional and depend on the courses students want to study at A-level.

As we stated before GCSE is a two -year of schooling for the students in years 10 and 11 but it is also possible to study one year GCSE in some international colleges like Bellerbys. This one year programme at Bellerbys colleges is designed for the students starting their education later than expected or those who aim to progress to further study quickly.

Kings Education, CATS, Bellerbys colleges are among the best colleges in England that run 2 year GCSE program for the UK and Non-UK students every year. Since these colleges are considered mainly as international, they classified core subjects into different pathways based on their potential students’ interests including Business, Art, Silence, and Engineering.

This classification will help the students to get a broad education in the chosen subject and save their money and time.


What Are A-Level Qualifications?

 Advanced level qualifications which are known as A-Levels by many are globally recognized qualifications leading students to direct university entry. Normally, students at the age of 16 undertake 2 years of courses with an official exam at the end of the second year to obtain this qualification. Plenty of universities around the world and especially in the UK only accept A-level for their offered courses. This means that students cannot apply for them if they possess other qualifications such as Foundation. For example, Oxford, Cambridge, LSE, Imperial College, UCL, and most medical degrees require A-level.

As Advance level qualifications are subject-based, international students typically study 3 or 4 subjects over two years. It is important for students to choose the right A-Level subjects because universities accept the students who not only have good grades but grades in the right subjects.

Some A-Level subjects are known as “Facilitating”. They called Facilitating subjects because they are more frequently required for entry to university than others. By studying these subjects, students can apply for a wide range of university courses. If you have not decided on your university subjects, taking the facilitating subjects is what the advisors ordered.

Below, you can learn about all A-Level subjects you can study in many UK international colleges and schools.

  • Art and Design
  • Business Studies
  • Computer Science
  • Economics
  • Government and Politics
  • Photography
  • Phycology
  • Sociology
  • Accounting
  • Biology (Facilitating)
  • Chemistry (Facilitating)
  • English Literature (Facilitating)
  • Further Mathematics (Facilitating)
  • Geography (Facilitating)
  • History (Facilitating)
  • Mathematics (Facilitating)
  • Foreign Modern Languages (Facilitating)
  • Physics (Facilitating)


How can we help you?

If you are interested in learning more about GCSE/A-Level in the UK colleges and schools, our experienced advisors are at your service and happy to convey to you the necessary information about education in the UK.